585,908 active members*
3,791 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > Newbie in CNC What CAD should I use? BONZAI3D vs ViaCAD

Newbie in CNC What CAD should I use? BONZAI3D vs ViaCAD

As newbie here. I consider to buy 1 or 2 CAD for use in CNC hobby. I look around internet for reasonable price and good feature coz I'm just want something good, easy to use and of course worth money. And I can't afford like Solidwork , AutoCAD.

So I come to see ViaCAD and Bonzai3D look interesting. Sound not that complicated. Since it look like Sketchup only they seem more advance than Sketchup. I've not own any CAD software yet. So I think I've have to have it 1 or 2 (if necessary) use it to design CNC machine and other projects.

I tend to like Bonzai3D but still keep research coz I'm not so sure this is worth or it right decision or not or suite for work or not. Since $885 it not cheap only ok. One thing I'm not so sure about this is these 2 software is good in design as TurboCAD or AutoCAD or not? Since TurboCAD/AutoCAD but ViaCAD or Bonzai3D is well .... little bit focus on 3D model.

I'm not to be advance feature but only I do is simple like airplane model , ship model , uav , some label/wood tool etc. just like hobby projects.
    So please give me some suggestion and any recommend. Thank you so much.

Re: Newbie in CNC What CAD should I use? BONZAI3D vs ViaCAD

I bought Alibre Design years ago, and that is a great program. I have used Solid Works, and really, I don't even open Solid Works, I use Alibre,... it is more useful, and delivers the same end results. And way, way less expensive. See what they offer. I think they are called GeoMagic now... but a great program.

3D Systems | Geomagic Design Software
    Robot & Machine Design - BLUECNC4, GreenCNC3, RedCNC2L, SilverCNC2; CNC Software!
    www.truemachinedesign.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - www.truemachineautomation.com

Thank for reply