585,775 active members*
4,329 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > New to AC servos; need advise on drive for SGM-02B312
Page 1 of 3 123

New to AC servos; need advise on drive for SGM-02B312

Hi everyone,

I'm new to AC servos; I need advise on a drive for Yaskawa SGM-02B312. I came across an assembly which is perfect for an awning project I contemplate. The only problem is that the motor is SGM-02B312 and I have never played with AC servos.

I quickly figured that I need a drive and figured how to drive the drive (lol) but here is my challenge:

The drives that appear compatible with SGM-02B312 require 200-230v AC input. All I have is the regular split phase 110V mains.

Am I looking for an impossible configuration to drive SGM-02B312 with 110v? If not would one of you gurus suggest a workable configuration for me? What drive with 110v input could be used with SGM-02B312?

I only need the simplest drive for my motor and I will control the drive using the simplest input - say analog voltage for speed control and that's it.

Thank you
    ~B

Re: New to AC servos; need advise on drive for SGM-02B312

You can do it. What is feedback device in your motor? Special or standard encoder?

Thanks Mike, it is a standard sequential encoder with a standard Yaskawa connector for their Servopack drives (the ones that I can only find in 200v versions)

If by 'sequential' encoder you really mean 'incremental' encoder, then good.

If by 'split phase' you mean 220v house power, then good too.

Any drive that can accept that encoder sig and 220v 1ph input AND is fully programmable for motor specs, AND has the input you require (step/dir? analog? ethernet?), AND is rated with enough current for your motor, will do the job. Some may be easier to program than others.

If your motor were an ironless rotor motor, then it may also need an output inductor, but I do not believe they built those.