585,997 active members*
5,082 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New machine 2 day progress

I got a wild hair up my butt to build a machine and thought I'd post a few pics of the progress so far. It's about a 4' x 4' foot print, all aluminum build. I'm stuck on the Z axis mount right now but when I get some time this weekend I'll figure it out. The gantry is heavy so I may need to beef up the motor to something stronger. I'm going to use steppers that are approximately 300oz and use 1/2-10 acme. It's my first build so I'm not too worried about ipm right now. Let me know what you think.

Re: New machine 2 day progress

Looks like you're off to a great start! Keep it up. Ill be following your build as Im doing a 4x5 all aluminum build right now myself.

Here's a little tidbit about this build. I have a few odds and ends when it comes to tools. I have an assortment of bolt tighteners, wrenches, sockets, and such. and I also have about a dozen tape measures and three times as many screwdrivers. I have a drill press, a hand drill, a sawzall, a dremel and about 500 hours of music on my phone. That's pretty much it for tools. I also have a bunch of aluminum, which is why I decided to make this out it, and not wood. Cutting the aluminum is easy with the sawzall, but not exactly square. I do have a hand me down tap set, but its metric. I have about three coffee cans full of nuts and bolts...none of which are metric.