584,850 active members*
4,566 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New guy go easy

I have been running and programming cnc lathes and mills for almost 20 years now. I am fortunate enough to work for a company that allows me to make personal stuff after hours. Well it gets old staying until 12 or 1 in the morning machining my personal projects. I have decided to take on the task of building my own machine, I purchased the momus design plans and after drawing the machine in solidworks I am thinking it will not suit my needs. I am looking to machine aluminum and plastics so I need something with a little more accuracy and rigidity. After doing some searching I now know that I want to use linear slides and ballscrews with some hefty stepper motors. My question before I get started is should I go with two motors for the Y axis? Can I use any length ballscrew? I'm still unsure of machine size because I don't know if I am limited by the ballscrew length. Thanks for looking..

Re: New guy go easy

My question before I get started is should I go with two motors for the Y axis?
    That really depends on the design, but for a typical moving gantry machine, two motors usually makes a more rigid machine.

Can I use any length ballscrew?
    Typically, you either get a screw to fit the machine, or design the machine around a screw. It's kind of difficult to use a 48" screw in a 24" machine.

What size machine are you looking for? What materials do you plan on using to build it?

After doing some searching I now know that I want to use linear slides and ballscrews with some hefty stepper motors.
    If by "hefty" you mean big, that's often a poor choice with steppers. On small to medium sized machines, smaller steppers will often outperform very large steppers.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints