585,922 active members*
3,772 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > MAchine operator here: BROKE boss' DT-1 today --- PLEASE HELP
Page 1 of 2 12

Unhappy MAchine operator here: BROKE boss' DT-1 today --- PLEASE HELP

So I'm new to manufacturing. New to machining. I'm a computer freak...but out of my element with manufacturing, metal machining, and the whole industry.

To boil it all down, I have 15 years of IT experience, and GIS experience and have a computer information systems undergraduate degree and almost completed a masters in geography. Back in 2008 I got in a load of legal trouble, so I am having major trouble finding work in my industry and passing a background check.So I took a job at my friend's and past school mate's company as a machine operator for $8/hr in his newly up and running CNC machine shop.

I've been there THREE weeks. I've mostly been trained by Mexicans that can barely speak the language. I have nothing against Mexicans, I think they're great people, with great values, and amazing work ethic (better than mine), but the language has been a barrier.

Today I was milling extruded aluminum in our Haas DT-1 machines. I walked away to go to the bathroom and get water. Apparently in my absent mindedness I neglected to clamp the part down in our Kurt vices inside the machine. The part slid free and went up against the far left of the sliding table. When the program continued to run it slammed up against the part and dented the OUTSIDE of the machine and completely boogered up the sliding table metal pieces that slide into one another to move along the X axis. Now when you hand jog the machine it hangs and wiggles unpredictably. Naturally, the machine is screwed up. I felt TERRIBLE. I thought I was going to be fired....but wasn't. I offered to take money out of my check each week to pay for the repairs. I know I messed up badly.