585,768 active members*
4,162 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > LINEAR RAIL VIBRATION / STABILITY

LINEAR RAIL VIBRATION / STABILITY

Hi-
    I'm considering modifying my Shoptask machine to linear rails. My plan was to bolt a 1/2" thick blanchard ground steel plate to the top of the main bed casting to attach the longitudinal rails, making the mounting points wider than the standard 6" width of the casting. Then use another steel plate on top of the blocks to attach the cross slide rails and table. I have no experience with linear rails and want to know if they will be as solid as the traditional method of the iron carriages sliding atop one another. Was looking at the 20 MM Chinese rails that are for sale on E-Bay. Also, I'm wondering about the ability of the stepper motors to lock and hold the rails in place against cutting loads since there is no physical clamp. My CNC system uses 640 OZ/IN motors and I have the 5 pitch Chinese 20 MM ball screws.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

Re: LINEAR RAIL VIBRATION / STABILITY

If you are talking about round shaft rails, then don;t do it. They are not great for metalwork.

dovetail ways have been used on cnc machines for a long time, I think the only downside is friction, and low speeds.

Can you say why you are considering the switch?

Alan,
    Thanks- I have seen people advertising mills with linear rails. To be honest, I am a bit of a fiddler- my machine works just fine, but I got this idea to modify it mostly for something to do. I'm guessing the problem with those round rails is the small contact area that supports all the machine weight.

Quote Originally Posted by smallblock View Post
    Alan,