381,017 Registered Members
Welcome to the CNC-Arena Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 20
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    313

    Importing and Moving an Object

    I am finding more and more I can do in Bobcad. I cannot figure out how to move and object after you bring it into Bob. It is a model in Obj format.I am doing some experimenting. I realize Bobcad is first a Cad program. Looks like CAM may have been added later and last is Art the one I will be using the most.I have compared features of Bob and Vectric and Delcam. Each program has its strong points. I have found I can do or maybe see a way of doing things in Bobcad that the others only offer in there Premium packages I can do most of the same stuff at a fraction of the price. So I will be asking a lot of questions Sorry .

    Thank You
    Don Murphy :violin:

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1474
    Just use "Translate."

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2226
    Move an object,,,,well there is translate,,,and that can be used many different ways.Then there is rotate,,,and that can be used many different ways.Then there is the UCS,,,and that can be used many different ways.Then there is 3D rotate.
    The Help menus and this link http://www.cnczone.com/forums/bobcad...formation.html should get you to do what you need.


    JSYK,a lot of people only use BoB for the CAM and BoBART.They will use others for Cad.Usually not the other way around.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    313
    I did use translate . I think I asked the question wrong. I import or bring in a model to Bocad. It is way off the center mark. I would like a button like many other programs that will center the model.

    jrmach I understand there are more than one way to do something. I need to center the object first. I am sorry that I left that out. try rotating a model that is way off center and 50 times to big. LoL I did, try that is. I did get it to a smaller size and near the center. Still working on it. Is there a gallery of woodworking things done with Bobart. The links on that page 4 or 5 do not work . The videos I have found and am looking at them as I go. I still have not received the package from Bobcad yet so I do not have what manuals or training comes with the program yet.

    Thank You
    Don Murphy

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3608
    There is no "button" to move things to ucs 0. You would have to use translate in concert with entity summary. It would be different depending on the geometry.

    For solids, you will have to calc the center bounds from the min/max of the xyz's. If it is 2d planar stuff, there will be a center of the bounds in the summary readout.
    Then you would use translate-sketch/enter-start enter, end enter, and enter the coords of the center in the start area and zero out the end.

    For other corners and such, you can use pick points of objects, and use start-pick, to zero the part.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    82
    Fortunately, using Solidworks and Inventor I always consider moulds or parts at an early stage as to where X0Y0Z0 is going to be. Once imported there is no movement required.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by Gallchobhair View Post
    I did use translate . I think I asked the question wrong. I import or bring in a model to Bocad. It is way off the center mark. I would like a button like many other programs that will center the model.

    jrmach I understand there are more than one way to do something. I need to center the object first. I am sorry that I left that out. try rotating a model that is way off center and 50 times to big. LoL I did, try that is. I did get it to a smaller size and near the center. Still working on it. Is there a gallery of woodworking things done with Bobart. The links on that page 4 or 5 do not work . The videos I have found and am looking at them as I go. I still have not received the package from Bobcad yet so I do not have what manuals or training comes with the program yet.

    Thank You
    Don Murphy
    To center a dwg you import could require a few steps , depending how the file was saved when created. I got things that were located what seemed a mile away from center at times. I sometimes would get a file containing many parts in one file, and would need to make one of each part. First thing I would do is click fit to screen, at that point, you should see the objects , it might be tiny dots , but it will be there, then I would simply zoom on what I want, and then I would simply copy it, then paste it in its own file. If you only have one part in the file, you won't need to copy it. I would simply use translate, use the "pick" setting for start point, and then use x y z zero as my target option, then click on whatever corner you want located at zero. But just as an fyi, if your only camming the part, and not drawing anything, you don't need to move it at all, x can be located at 100 miles from zero,, and when you set up your stock and define the datum in the camtree, itwill see the part as being at x zero.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    186
    Hi force, just wondering, you do realize that using bobcam, or camworks, or pretty much any cam program, you do NOT need to have the part located at the screen zero. The cam side works independant of anything else. That allows us to set zero for g54, and g55, in different spots. I almost never set my drawing zeros, I just draw it, then when I cam it, I tell it what to origin from.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    313
    Is there a Gallery of Bobart or Bobcad work. I would like to see some of the things that people have made with Bobart-cad-cam. I did not find anything on the website.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2226
    Not that I know of.Sounds like a great idea for a new thread though.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    597
    Sorry I took so long to get back to this. When I said the idea of doing a surface from a 3-view was interesting, I had no idea where it would lead. I found a nice 3-view and loaded it up. Attachment 202902

    The basic plan was to trace the relevant side and top-view curves, then extrude the side-view curves into surfaces. Then I'd rotate those surfaces beneath the top-view curves, project the curves onto the surfaces, and thus arrive at a 3D wireframe of the hull. So far, so good. All of that went very smoothly. Next, I just used the Cross Section tool on the resulting 3D curves, and boom, instant hull.

    The problem was, the hull wasn't faceted, like the drawing. It looked really good, but it was a continuous curve, as if the boat were fiberglass. The drawing is of a plywood boat, and the hull very clearly looks like it was made from 6 flat boards, bent into shape and joined. Like an idiot, I decided that wasn't good enough, and set about making a CAD version of the same thing. After trying everything I could think of, and learning a lot about what does and doesn't work when playing with surfaces, this is where I'm at right now. It's close...Attachment 202904

    I hope somebody will have a look at the .bbcd file and point out where I'm missing something. The first chine down from the gunwale is the one that annoys me the most. Oh, and the transom is still in a separate layer, I think. I forgot to consolidate that. Once I feel better about it, I'll throw together a tutorial, but I want to be sure I've got a good handle on it before I start. This one will take some 'splaining. Not exactly a beginner tutorial, once I got down and dirty with it, I'm afraid...

    Luke

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2226
    Your FAR from an idiot and I for one,look forward to your tutorial.Speak as loudly as you want,lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Object osnap to another object?
    By fordav11 in forum Autodesk Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 04:28 AM
  2. Moving object / entity
    By Craigpat in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 03:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertising