584,833 active members*
5,525 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > How to use encoders instead of servos
Page 1 of 2 12

How to use encoders instead of servos

I am kind of new to the whole CNC thing, but have a strong electronics / electrical background.
    Basically.. I would like to build a CNC machine that uses an outside sensor to tell the CNC program when the machine has reached the desired location instead of the CNC machine just telling a servo motor to move a certain number of steps.. I want the freedom to use whatever motor I want to drive the machine in the desired direction, and use a sensor like an encoder, or some other type of sensor to tell the CNC software the location that the machine is at.

This will give me the option of using anything to drive the machine to the desired location, even pneumatic pistons if I wanted.. I just don't want to be limited to the power / speed / size of a servo.. even tho I know they come in lots of different sizes etc.

So how do I go about using a sensor to tell the machine where it is instead of the software telling a servo to move a certain number of steps?

I plan to use Mach3.

Re: How to use encoders instead of servos

Kfkop board and linear encoders would probably work. Mach3 probably not.

So you are saying I cannot use Mach3 with linear encoders or "kfkop board"? not sure what that board is but I will look into it..

You can use mach3 with k-flop but the software they provide is better in many ways.

Ben

I don't get what you are looking to achieve that is not accomplished by any fully closed loop servo system.
    The whole idea of a servo is that the loop is closed via an encoder or other feedback element, known as the PID loop, This is done with Mach except that it is the drive that closes the loop, Mach as the trajectory planner does not know the position.