585,930 active members*
3,990 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > (Help) Pocketing Hardwood pocket base finish

(Help) Pocketing Hardwood pocket base finish

Newbie here.
    Material is hard maple. Making a variety of engravings usually with raised letters or images.
    Freud 2 flute 1/4" right hand cut carbide end mill 30 degree helix.
    Router is Dewalt 611 with Precise bits precision collet.
    Depth of cut is 1/4"
    Have tried adjusted speed between 50-100in/min
    Step over is 50%
    I've varied RPM between 16-24k
    I've adjusted pass depth as low as 1mm.
    No issues with tear out at the top of the material and the pocket edges are clean and straight, no fuzz, chatter or tearout. The bottom of the pockets have small spirals that are slightly uneven and can be very time consuming to sand and finish particularly around small details.
    Perhaps just the particular end mill I'm using but thought it worth seeking out advice before I sink more cash into end mills.
    Ideally I'd like to get a finish that would minimize prep prior to staining.
    Any suggestions on feeds, endmills or other possible solutions would be greatly appreciated.
    Max shank size I can use at this time is 1/4"
    Attachment 266576

Re: (Help) Pocketing Hardwood pocket base finish