584,861 active members*
4,779 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > G540 - MOSFET's on Y and A axis' destroyed

G540 - MOSFET's on Y and A axis' destroyed

Hi guys, I need some help. I am new to CNC and I am working on my first build, but I've run into a problem.

I have a rig controlled by a G540 with four 381 oz. Automation Technologies stepper motors connected to it. I had gotten everything connected and was getting movement on all axis'. My problem arose when I went to scale the axis' with Mach3. As the X-axis began it's first movement the machine locked up. Through individual axis testing, I came to realize that the Y and A-axis no longer worked. I found that switching the motors (Y to X and A to Z) yielded movement in those axis', but still nothing in the Y or A.

I sent the board to Gecko and it turns out there was "Customer induced damage". They said the damage is most likely from "shorting motor windings together, reverse polarity, or shorting the motor to GND on both axis". They are repairing the board and sending it back to me.

My question is, how could damage happen simultaneously on two separate axis'? Any thoughts on what the problem could be? I don't want to just plug everything back in, once the board arrives, so what is the best way to track down the problem?

Thank for your help!

Re: G540 - MOSFET's on Y and A axis' destroyed

Would need to know more about the setup and wiring to really offer any constructive help. Normally the things that destroy drivers are having the steppers disconnected under load. Do you have limits that cut power to part of the rig, that got tripped upon first movement because they were either tripped or had the wrong input value?

The G540's are pretty bulletproof, so unless you changed a switch setting or disconnected a stepper under load, it's very hard to tell what went wrong.

Have you also ruled out any issues with whatever PSU you're using?

cheers, Ian