585,758 active members*
4,323 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: G0759 Build

G0759 Build

I received my G0759 mill 10 days ago after being on order for about 2 months. The mill arrived with no damage and I had no problems setting it up. Cleaned it with WD40 and checked the trams and everything was good.

While waiting for the Mill to ship, I had purchased all the necessary CNC conversion components including the ballscrew kit from AT. I didn’t buy the machined parts which I planned to make myself using Hoss’s phase 2 design and drawings. I assembled and tested the controller with the Mach3 software and all seems to be working well including the HTC wireless pendant. It took a while to figure out how to fit and mount everything into the AT controller case but it turned out OK. The motors all seem to be running smoothly on my bench top.

I’m new to machining and have never operated a mill but didn’t really have any major problems making the conversion parts. The G0759 DRO really helps when running the mill manually; too bad it won’t be of much use once converted to CNC.