584,858 active members*
4,536 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Starting Plasma Table Pics Added

Hi everyone. I 've been reading the forums for quite a while, but this is my first post. I am just getting started on my plasma table, and I will have many questions to post in the near future.

I own a machine shop in the midwest, and have several cnc's, but i have never built one.

So far the frame is 5" x 5" x 1/4" tubing, and will accept a 5 x 10 sheet. It is very heavy, but I would like to see rapids at 1000 ipm + and be heavily used for many years.

I purchased 1" x 10' Thompson linear shafting (predrilled and supported) for the x axis, with frelon twin pillow blocks. I plan on using the same for Y.
    x will be driven by gear rack & spur gear, while y will be driven by 1"-10 acme screw with 10 starts.

Thanks in advance for all the support.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P2200056.JPG   P2200057.JPG  

MMT,
    I was wondering if you may have found a "reasonable" source for "supported Thompson Rod" type shafts. I am in the market for two 10' long 1.5" fully supported shafts.

I went through Applied Industrial Technologies I had about $1400.00 in 2 10 ft predrilled shafts, 20 ft of supports and 2 twin fluoroliner pillow blocks.

You Can Buy Precision Linear Rails For About $1000.00 ,that I Perfer Over Rod Shafts , A 30mm Can Handel 6200 Lb Dynamic Load . Also If Your Gantry Is Single Side Drive (no Slave) Make Shure The Ganty Is Well Braced To Prevent Wiping Witch Really Hurts Cut Quality.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P6100078.2.jpg  

how thick materials will u be cutting with this table? or how heavy it can handle?

im planning on starting building my table sometime soon and i think ill go for hardened shaft route (predrilled too) from mcmaster carr

do u suggest building 5 by 10 instead of 4x8 table?