585,880 active members*
7,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Fanuc System 6T Help

I just acquired a Pratt Whitney lathe with a 6T control on it. When I power it up the Machine alarm is lit on the operators panel. The operating manual says this is a problem on the machine side. I can use the jog button and the digital readout indicates motion while there is physically nothing happening. I am not new to working on CNC stuff but a total noob on a 6T. Any suggestions of what to check or things to do. I have wiring diagrams but no maintenance manual. Any suggestions appreciated.

Re: Fanuc System 6T Help

sounds like 'machine lock' or 'program test' button is on, lamp may be burnt out... signal is called MLK in the signal list, most OEMs use similar naming on their schematics

Yes the machine lock was on. Now I can jog the machine, home it, and enter other commands via the mdi. I cannot get the spindle to turn on. I can enter S500 and a M3 command and only the op stop light comes on. The way lube reservoir is full and it has full air pressure. The transformer on the spindle drive unit is not powered. It is getting power to the magnetic switch but it doesn't look like anything is siganlling the switch to turn on. Does anyone know what signals this switch to come on?

I don't have any idea about the transformer issue. If it is that then maybe someone else can help. Way back when I was on 6T machines. while in manual mode there were just 3 buttons on the control panel CW, CCW, Stop and a dial to control RPM. In MDI (with the chuck clamped) you might have to call a gear range with a M41; or M42; then the mext line a G97 S500 M3;. You say your no stranger to NC so im pretty sure you already know this but since didn't know about the machine lock I figured I'd type this just in case you by chance you didn't. Good luck...

Brent

Did you check the O/L (over load) for tripped condition on the spindle contactor?
    Al.