585,717 active members*
4,206 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Angry Fanuc 10T with FAPT

Hi all, been a toolmaker (plastic Injection) for 22yrs and i am just starting out on learning cnc on an old Fanuc 10T with FAPT programing, i am 2wks in on an "on the job" training and i am doing ok but there is one thing i just cannot understand or get my head round and my "teacher" does not know how to explain in a way to make it understandable for me, so i hope you can help.

My Q. is this.

Can anyone explain when you are drawing the shape in FAPT you have to tell the nc which paths to take in "Dividing Direction" by using direction arrows on the keypad which represent X+ X- Y+ Y- only it to me does not represent anything whatsoever, i think its asking me what i dont want to machine, which is easy but telling the m/c is a different story as every time i select what i think is correct its wrong.

What does Dividing Direction mean and what is it asking me to do??

Do you have the manual? I do. I never and will never use FAPT on my 10TF. I can write programs quicker manually, and besides, I use Mastercam.

I am guessing with FAPT but most conversational controls provide some method of allowing you to describe the directions you want to machine a feature. Depending on the tool (right or left hand) and application (what specifically you want to machine), there are times you will want to turn towards the chuck and times you may want to turn away from the chuck. Newer conversational controls actually prompt you for turning or "back turning", facing or "back facing". Not sure if this helped, or if this is what you were asking, let me know

Mark T.

www.cnccustomservices.com

thanks both but no i do not have the manual and as i am being given training of sorts on how to use this system and only this at the moment i dont have the luxury of using another method.