585,741 active members*
5,240 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Estop Watchdog command in Initialization File

Hi Tom,

This may be a question you have answered clearly before but I haven’t been able to find it.
    I have a few basic questions, may sound stupid but I’m no programmer.
    1. I am trying to set up the Estop for my machine along with a few other things. You have mentioned before that you need to include a watch dog loop in the initialization file for the Estop to work properly. I saw they watchdog example c code in the Kmotion folder and I think I can get it to work, my question is where in the Initialization file code should I copy & paste this watchdog code? Beginning, end?

2. In Kmotion, there are the 7 threads when you open the C program screen. If I had 7 C-code files open in each of these threads, are all 7 programs actively running in Kmotion while the system is running? I’m curious because I would like a way to test a segment of code before I copy it into a file that I know works for the machine. I know in KmotionCNC you can assign the buttons a thread, but how would I have a watchdog test code always running in parallel with my initialization file while running kmontioncnc?

3. Along side the E-stop, I want to include some sanity checks into the initilization program to make sure everything is working before any axis are initialized i.e. Compressed Air is reaching the machine, adequate pressure is maintained,no blockages etc. Also I have a pneumatic lock on the Z axis to stop it from dropping when the machine is de-energized. There is a proximity switch on it and it’s set up in Kflop as an input. Say IObit100 for this example. I see there is a readbit command which looks for a change in the input, but is there a command that says if bit100=high, do this…. Else, do this…
    I tried if (ReadBit(100)=1) do this…. but I get an error.