584,865 active members*
4,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 10 123

DIY Hobby Size 5-axis mill

Hey guys. I'm in the process of getting parts together for a diy 5 axis cnc.

Lets not talk about the g-code or cam software. I'm only interested in talking about the electronics. (which im not an expert with) and the trunnion table rotary bed build.

I'm not concerned about head clearances either. This can be changed. The rotary bed on the trunion table will be 6" and will hold a 5" chuck.

I'm going to build it around a 'little machine shop hi-torque mini-mill model 3900'.

I spent some time looking at stepper motor sizes. I got some calculators. It was a decision for me to go with overkill using g203v drivers to allow for upgrading the machine later. (stiffer and better spindle.)
    I decided to go with 381oz/in steppers all around. With g504 4 axis and g251 driver. Smooth stepper. And a C11G breakoutboard for the 5th axis breakout and pump/spindle control. 48VDC 20A power supply

Heres the current order list for the electronics from AutomationTechnologies.

Gecko Diver G540 4 Axis Driver, Current Version
    NEMA23 381oz/in 3.5A Single Shaft Stepper Motor KL23H2100-35-4A
    Ethernet SmoothStepper Motion Control Board for Mach3
    Geckodrive G251 50V/3.5A Stepper Motor Driver
    E-stop Switch
    Coupling 1/4" and 1/4 "
    Micro Limit switch
    Ethernet SmoothStepper Cable Combo
    4 conductor 22 GA Shielded Motor wires
    Motor cable connector
    C11G - Multifunction CNC Breakout Board
    Unregulated Linear 960W/ 48 VDC/20A Toroidal PSU (KL-4820)

I also plan to build an enclosure for it.
    I could use some suggestions on the electronics. I wasn't sure about the C11G breakout board. But it seems like it has a lot of room for expansion.
    Lets hear your thoughts.

Cheers