585,949 active members*
4,167 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Diving into spindle bearing replacement

Diving into spindle bearing replacement

Hello - I have a JCUT Router (chinese). After less than 200 hours my 4.5kw water cooled spindle (single phase, 220v ) wore out the bearings. There are a few factors that could have contributed including the quality of the spindle itself. On several occasions the water was not running and the spindle got quite hot, the application I use the machine for is pretty arduous (material removal with a long extension) and I don't have a dust extraction system. You will see in pics. I am relatively new to machining and so I just don't know what to focus on so that I can get better tool durability in the future. finally, i was told that this spindle should have a bearing ring to reduce wear caused by electrical "surges"? does that make sense and is it is a significant consideration?
    Attachment 248630 this is the spindle with extension and 1.25 inch cutter.
    general questions about re-assembly and bearing "tightness"

Any help would make a huge difference. Thanks in advance!

Re: Diving into spindle bearing replacement

danielcoyle

The bearings should not be very tight on the shaft, as you have them mounted, how tight were the original Bearings, the fitting of the new Bearing should be the same fit, are your new Bearings Sealed, if they are then they already have the correct amount of Grease, no more grease is needed, if the Bearings are open then they will need the correct measured amount of high performance Grease ( kluber 15 )

When fitting Bearings like this, you have to measure the Spindle Shaft & the ID of the Bearing, & make sure they are the correct size before you press or slide them on, if they are to tight a fit on the Spindle Shaft, then they will not last very long
    Mactec54