585,712 active members*
3,916 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > Can I continue pocketing, (final pass) without all the air cutting?

Can I continue pocketing, (final pass) without all the air cutting?

I'm new to MadCAM and CNC in general, so go easy on me. I'm working on cutting a pocket for some inlay work, and am doing two passes to complete the work. One with a .125" endmill, and the final pass with an .0625" to clean up the corners. The process is working well, except that the final pass takes forever, most of which is just air cuts, since the roughing removed all of that material. Is there a way to setup my process so that madcam will know what was taken care of on the initial roughing pass, and skip that work on the final?

Thanks,

Jason

Re: Can I continue pocketing, (final pass) without all the air cutting?

I can tell directly right now that you are doing things wrong, and your process is not working so well (as it should).
    You are not using roughing, Z-level and Planar combined, right?
    Because if you do, your roughing will take the big thing, the Z-level and Planar will do the finishing without running in the air.

Did you read the tutorials and watched the movie-clips? I am pretty sure you can speed up things.

If you could provide a couple of screen shots of your model, showing your paths, or better yet, post the file, and we should be able to help out. Sven is right, you are definitely doing something wrong. Pocketing in madCAM is very efficient if you do it right.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by svenakela View Post
    You are not using roughing, Z-level and Planar combined, right?