585,753 active members*
4,459 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CAM Newbie Needs Advice

I have zero experience with cnc and am thinking about converting my little benchtop mill with stepper motors. The problem is that I don't want to give up manual control of my machine and invest in cam software before I'm sure I can work out all of the bugs. I'm looking for a CAM solution for a guy with a really low budget. I have tried a couple of trials of sprutcam and mastercam and found sprutcam to be more intuitive to a new user. I'm willing to try anything that I can get my hands on. I believe that a developer should be compensated for their work but these $10,000 and up price tags on CAM packages are Crazy to a guy like me. That being said I have no moral opposition to trying cracked versions of popular software for the purpose of learning. I'm not making any money with my machine or anything, just your low level hobbyist. What do you guys recommend for a guy like me? Can anyone point me toward some resources? I'm at a loss.

Re: CAM Newbie Needs Advice

If you are looking for 2,5D I would recommend NC12 from FILOU it is a professional CAM software but it is verry intuitive and easy to learn. Best thing for you is that they offer a hobby version, with a low price but with no limitation.