585,763 active members*
4,002 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Beginner question on vertical milling and CNC milling

Beginner question on vertical milling and CNC milling

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and figure I'd make my first post with a question. I'm also new to milling and CNC in general.

So here goes - lets say I have part that I'm milling out of a square piece of stock. I put the stock into my vice, cut the profile that I want and now need to 'part' off the piece from the stock that was used for the work holding (apologies for incorrect terminology). I've done many searches online for 'parting', 'work holding', 'finishing a milled part', etc… I'm undoubtedly using the wrong terms in my search but I'd like to understand the techniques for finishing a part after having milled it. Flipping it over and facing off the bottom seems likely but I'm also wondering if putting the new milled edges in the vice would be potentially damaging.

Any pointers to websites and or proper terminology would be awesome.

Thanks for listening.

- Chris.