585,748 active members*
3,523 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

beginner needs advice

I am a graphic designer and fabricator for a full service embelishment factory..we do everything from laser cutting, embroidery,3d printing etc..basically everything needed to makes samples and prototypes for the fashion industry..we recently purchased our first cnc mill, a roland mdx40a..we plan on using this for prototyping in plastic, wood and ideally soft metal..after speaking with roland they tell me that while the machine is not made with metal in mind, it can mill soft metals on slow settings...i also spoke to the dealer and he expressed concern over the small size and amout of detail i would like to achieve in metal..he tells me the machine can mill soft metals fine but hes worried that small detail requires tiny bits that are likely to break and he advised milling the small detailed pieces in wax and then casting them.this seems like a pain in the azz and i was hoping for a solution to directly mill the detailed metal pieces...im talking about size and detail like that of jewelry or perhaps metal logo emblems for handbags....i was hoping maybe i could directly mill a soft alloy directly without breaking the tiny cutters required for detail...maybe you guys know of a softer type of alloy that can suit my needs? I would like a silver colored and/or a gold or copper colored option...if i need to mill in wax and cast i will but i was hoping to avoid that step if possible..perhaps zinc is softer than alluminum?zinc seems to polish to a nice silver color so that may be an option?..id appreciate all the advice you guys can offer.the machine arrives in a week

Re: beginner needs advice