585,712 active members*
4,258 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > 3D Toolpaths- Which ones are best and best used for what?
Page 1 of 2 12

3D Toolpaths- Which ones are best and best used for what?

So trying to learn whats best without tons of hours in testing and trial mostly error.

I have BCCv24 Pro. So it has these paths to choose from,

Z Level Rough
    Z Level Finish
    Slice Planar
    Slice Spiral
    Slice Radial
    Plunge Rough
    Advanced Rough
    Flatlands
    Equidistant Offset
    Pencil

I am sure some of those are better depending on the material and geometry we are cutting but what should be my staple path for stuff like filleted aluminum? I assume the Pro paths are best since they are the upgrades? Some ideas for me to go off of would be cool. Complete newb here on 3D pathing.

Thanks!

Re: 3D Toolpaths- Which ones are best and best used for what?

that's a pretty wide guess for us -- stuff like filleted aluminum.

A drawing at least would help.

Zip a drawing and post if you can

You got us with both hands tied behind our back.
    That is like setting us up on a blind date,most likely won't end well.
    Please a .bbcd file.

If you are going to be doing a lot of 3D tool paths..BoB has made great advancements since 24,,just saying.

"Fillett Aluminum" is that made out of Billett ? sorry,could not resist

but she's really really pretty

LOL, knew it would be kinda broad LOL.

Give me a min, will get a file.

Probably the most used (If you have Pro and by me anyway) would be the "Advanced Rough" for roughing out/semi rough/semi-semi rough etc and "Equadistant Offset" for finishing.

There are of course instances where a particular job may well be better run with different strategies but I would say the above are a fair starting point, will do most jobs

Regards
    Rob
    :rainfro: :rainfro: :rainfro:

Here is an example.